10 Things You Must Let Go Of Today…


Some times you have to let go of things to allow new, more useful things, into your life. Letting go can be difficult, but it can also be very positive and rewarding. Here are a few things you MUST let go of if you truly hope to live a happy and positive life…

Let Go Of…

  • Guilt: Does guilt ever change the situation? Can it reverse time and change the past? The answer is NO! Guilt has no use what-so-ever. Let it go and get on with living. Take whatever it is that is making you feel guilty and use it as a lesson learned.
  • Negative Thinking: Negative thinking is one of the worst things you can do to yourself. One negative thought leads to another, which leads to a snowball effect of thinking that you can’t control. Pay close attention to your thoughts by noticing your feelings, if you are thinking something that is potentially negative turn it around immediately and replace it with something positive. This simple act will make a world of difference to your mood, and your life over all.
  • Need for Approval: Stop trying to get approval from others. Accept that you can not please everyone and focus on pleasing yourself. What others think doesn’t matter, your life is about how ‘you’ feel, accept that and enjoy it.
  • Anger/Heartbreak: Everyone has suffered at some point. We have all had our hearts broken or been hurt in the past. Let it go and allow yourself to move forward. Holding grudges and being bitter does not change the past, but it can have a great impact on your future and can even prevent happiness from entering your life.
  • Fake Friends: Having 438 friends on Facebook does not mean you have 438 friends. Chances are you have a few people online and in your life that are not ‘real’ friends, or that don’t really add to your life in any way. Break the negative connection and let these people go, true friends are hard to find but they add substance to our lives and they are always there when we need them.
  • Procrastination: Stop procrastinating, just stop. If there is something that needs to be done, just do it. Period. Procrastination is a bad habit and the longer you practice it the harder the habit is to break.
  • Envy: Envy is another one of those things that gets you nowhere. Why aspire to be someone else when your life is perfect just the way it is? Stop trying to keep up with the Joneses and be happy with the way things are.
  • Self-Doubt: A negative self-image can have a huge impact on your well-being, let go of your self-doubt and embrace self-love. Forget the ten pounds you think you need to lose, look past the flaws you see in yourself, and stop thinking you are not good enough. You are what you create in your mind, so point out 10 fantastic things about yourself right now and start sharing those great things with others. Chances are the more you love yourself, the more others will appreciate and love you as well.
  • Limitations: Your limitations are what you make them, if you doubt you can do something you will fail in your attempts. Stop putting limitations on yourself and reach for the sky. Your self-imposed limitations are the only thing holding you back from accomplishing your goals.
  • Time: Stop focusing on the clock. In today’s modern world everything we do revolves around time. Time for work, time for dinner, time for meetings, calls, and rest. Outside of work let go of the time restraints and simply do what feels right for you, stop living life by the minute and start living the life you want.
It can be difficult to break these habits listed above. There is challenge and obstacles each of these examples presents, but overcoming these challenges will help you achieve the balance and positivity you want in your life and is well worth the effort. Choose one, two or a few of the examples above and make the choice to change your actions today. One small change now can mean big changes in the future, consider what is most important to your life and live accordingly.
Until Next Time…
Let It Go!
What are some of the things in your life that you need to let go of?
What are some changes you have made that changed the way you live?
Name one thing that is holding you back from living a more positive life. 
Feel free to share your thoughts in the comment section. 
Questions, submissions and inquiries can be sent to:
inspiredeverymoment@outlook.com
356 thoughts on “10 Things You Must Let Go Of Today…

  1. Pingback: A Season of Love Message~10-24-11 « A Moment with Mysti

  2. Wonderful wise words. So easy to say, yet so hard to do. My husband and I made this year our year of positive thinking, and we keep having to remind ourselves as the odd negative one slips in. I think I need to work on a few more as well. Thanks for sharing and congrats on the Freshly Pressed!

    • Thanks so much, for both your comment and your congrats. Negative thinking is the “big one” and it requires constant reminders. Working on some of the other items on the list will help with those negative patterns of thinking as well. To truly beat negative thinking you need to beat negativity altogether, or find more positive ways of dealing with it on a whole. It is a process that takes time and I am glad to see that you and your husband have made the choice to take the journey. It is truly rewarding. Don’t be discouraged by any slip-ups, take them as lessons and continue moving forward. :)

      All the best and please feel free to check back often and share your thoughts.

  3. This is exactly what I needed to hear at the moment. I’m going through this constant cycle of negativity at this time and I went as far as googling the phrase, “getting rid of negative energy.” I came across an interesting chant, however, and I think it’s a lesson in the power of visualization.

    I see only pure reflected light
    I am ridding all bad luck and negative energy
    O Blessed Be

    I think I’m just due for a negativity cleanse, and I think your points here are exactly what I already know, but it’s always good to be reminded sometimes. Thanks for the friendly nudge.

    -D.

    • Hi there, and thanks for commenting and for sharing that interesting chant as well. It is a great tool to use in order to encourage positivity. We all need reminders from time to time and I am glad that I could help. Just remember letting go is a lifelong process and part of our journey to a happier more positive life. We need only take one step at a time, even the smallest steps will bring you to the same place as a giant leap!

  4. Wow…this is a great list! I think I would probably add needing to let go of the past onto the list, though. Sometimes, we get so caught up in what happened in the past (for better or worse) that we forget to live in the present.

    This is a post that most certainly is well-deserving of being Freshly Pressed! Thanks so much for posting it! :)

      • I think the past can be an excellent learning tool though. If you simply let go of it you must ensure that you retain the lessons you learnt. You may have a horrible experience, but don’t surround yourself with the negativity of that experience and live in fear of a reoccurance. Rather learn the lesson it taught you and take that forward with you away from the negativity.

  5. Fabulous post! Congrats on fp! I will certainly be sharing this post with others. It could not come at a more opportune time than now, when I am really trying to get rid of the toxic stuff in my life. Thank you for sharing!!!

    • Thank you for your comment and I am glad you enjoyed the post. There is no better time than now to make changes that will lead to a more positive way of life. :)
      All The Best!

  6. It’s the first time I read this blog and it’s amazing! I’ve got problems with this thing about “letting things go” and cut some chains… I’ve been in love with someone but he’s absolutely happy with his gf, they live together and he has done a lot to proof his love to her… This really hurts me, because I wanted to be that girl and he has chosen…
    The worse is he’s an online friend and we build a great friendship until he met her..
    How can I cut all of this? getting him out of everything? fb, msn, skype, wordpress….?

    Now I’m focused on me, I do practice Yoga and Pilates, try to write on my blog and I’m trying to learn french, but sometime his memory comes or he writes something and there you go! I feel down and terrible because I feel I wasn’t enough for him…

    Excellent post! I’ll try to make it everyday! ;)

    • This is a situation that many of us have faced in life and it can be a difficult one to deal with emotionally. First off, let go of thinking “that you were not enough for him.” This is self-doubting behavior, and it is not the truth. You need to stay positive and find the value in yourself. You also need to remember that everything in life happens for a reason, even heartache. Perhaps you are not with this man because you need to be available for Mr. Right, who may be on his way to you right now. :)

      Thank you for your comment, and I wish you all the best. If you would like to speak more in private you can always email me at: learningtolive@live.ca

      • When I was in a some what similar situation my mother said to me, “if you spend all your energy, focus and love on the wrong man, you’re not going to notice when Mr Right comes a callin’”. I thought this was great advice.

    • Thank you. Guilt is often a useless thing and it weighs us down more than we acknowledge. It changes nothing that has happened in the past, and often holds us back in the future…

  7. Excellent post. It was great reviewing the things that I’ve been plagued with all my life. You are right on, these are not easy but they are very possible to eliminate from ones life.

    • Hi and thanks for your comment. These things can be difficult to let go of, and it is not something that will happen in one day, it requires that we have patience and a desire to be truly happy in our lives, but it is worth the effort and energy it takes. :)

    • Thanks for the comment Ron, and I am glad you enjoyed this post. Great point about time, it is not about letting go of time itself, but more about cherishing the time we have to ourselves.
      Cheers.

  8. Pingback: Sink or Swim | Mum's the Word

  9. Brilliant, great post. Also agree on the Facebook friends, I use it to promote my writing but I barely inteact with more than five or six people on there. But more so, I love that you picked out time. I have been backpcking around the world for the last few years and I’ve never been so happy, or so disconnected from time. I missed my own birthday – true story!

    • Thanks for the comment, and wow that is an amazing and inspiring thought. Time can be a huge restraint on our lives and can truly hold us back from achieving so many things… Clearly we can not live completely oblivious to the clock ticking around us, but we can treasure the moments we have to ourselves. All the best to you. :)

  10. Love it. I’m a therapist and this is a good list for every single one of my clients and of course, for myself. Congrats on FP!

    • Thank you so much for your comment. I am happy to see that so many people enjoyed this post, just seeing the responses encouraged me, and reminded me, to share more and to help others learn the simple lessons I have in life. :)

    • Thanks for the comment and I am glad it was inspiring for you. It is truly amazing how one small change can make a huge difference in life, it took me a long time to learn this lesson and I am always happy to see that what I have learned helps to inspire others. :)

  11. Thanks for this. Ive recently let go of fear and self doubt and have never felt more free to be creative and just try. I was holding myself back from my dreams and convinced our company would never take off before we ever even opened up shop. Great article!

    • Thanks for your thoughts, and I am glad you enjoyed this post. Fear and Self-Doubt can be the biggest limitations in our lives and are often the most difficult things to let go of, but once you have done so you will feel lighter and far less stressed out. You said it perfectly when you said you felt ‘more free to be creative and just try.’ Good for you, you have taken a huge step in the right direction. All the best!

  12. These points are all so logical and yet holding on to them can be quite fleeting. I really appreciate this today as I realize that over half of what we do is out of a feeling of guilt or seeking approval. The book THE SCARLET LETTER by Nathaniel Hawthorne has a great introduction in which it is noted that people have a tendency to stay near the site of the situation where they are shamed or held back, rather than just moving on. In my case, I have left for Canada, but only once I realized that until matters were solved internally, the things we try to flee will just follow us.

    • Thank you for your comment, and what a huge realization you have come to. Just making this connection is a giant step towards happiness for you in your life. I wish you all the best in your journey. :)

  13. Very inspiring post. Having 400+ facebook friends is more like saying you are acquainted with that many people. The problem is, once you have them, it’s hard to let them go. Unfriending someone can be seen as rude.

    • Thanks for the comment, and great point as well. When I clear out my Facebook, which I try to do regularly, I first post on my status what I am doing. I will post something like “Cleaning out my friends list, no offense to anyone but if I haven’t talked to you on here, or don’t talk to you in real life, you might be removed.” It is amazing how quickly our friends lists get filled with friends that are not really friends at all! I would rather risk offending someone than living my online life with people who don’t actually care a bit about what I am doing in my real life!

    • Thanks so much for the comment. Yes, there are quite a few things on this list, and even more that are not listed, but facing them one at a time and letting go of the things that weigh us down in life has brilliant results that are well worth the effort involved. :)

  14. I have to say, one of the highlights of my semester was deleting away the people on Facebook I either don’t talk to or didn’t want to talk to anymore. Letting go of people whose commitments you don’t want feels amazing.

    • It is somehow satisfying to break a bond with someone who adds no value to your life. It might be hard to let go of someone at first, but once it is done it truly has a major result. Whether it is on Facebook or in real life ridding yourself of toxic people can be very beneficial to you well-being and overall happiness.

    • Procrastination and self-doubt are usually the two most difficult things to let go of because they are self created. Letting go of them requires that we learn to control our way of thinking, something that only happens with practice and time, but it is well worth it in the end. To end procrastination live by the rule that if it can quickly be done now don’t put it off until later, and use lists that are set by priority. What I do to battle self-doubt is each morning I wake up and think of 5 things I like about myself (either physically or personality wise), think of 5 things I am thankful for, and think of 5 things I am proud of accomplishing. It starts my day off on a good note and reminds me of how lucky I really am in life.

      Thank you for your comment and be sure to check back for more ways to live a happier more positive lifestyle. :)

  15. Hello! To be honest, I am not a fan of inspirational and self help books. When I clicked your feature in the freshly pressed, I am rather attracted with the display picture you used. But when I read your entire post, I realized my big mistake. The 10 things you have identified are so true and applicable to my life. And though leaving them is not like a walk in the park, I have to thank you for reminding and explaining them to me and the other readers.

    Great post and great blog as well.

    • Thank you for your comment and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the post. I am not a huge fan of “self-help” sites either actually and so I created this site as a simple reminder of all the ways you can be happier and more positive in your life without stressing yourself out even more. You’re right letting go of these things is not an easy task, and it is a life long journey, but it is well worth the effort involved. :)

  16. Nice list but I would have liked to see more examples of how to let go of some of these things. Great list to keep in mind!

    • It might be worth repeating the instruction on procrastination. “Just stop.” It may seem like an oversimplification, but in truth it really is that simple. We build complicated nests of these different negative things and use them to reinforce each other. If you “just stop” one there is a good chance it will make it a lot easier to just stop another.

      Thanks for the post Katherine. This is great mental health advice!

      • Thanks for your comment and you are correct, chances are in “just stopping” one behavior you will in turn stop many of this self-limiting behaviors that are weighing you down in more ways than most people are even aware of.

  17. Pingback: Autumn Reflections » J. Carter Shelton

  18. I love your blog and you’ve inspired me to list related articles at the bottom of my entries! This is a great way to keep track of those like-minded bloggers! Inspirational and well-organised. Congrats on getting on Freshly Pressed!

    • Thank you so much for the comment and the congrats. I did not even know that I was freshly pressed until just a few minutes ago, I have been very busy over the last few days and hadn’t been keeping up with my writing, when I checked my email and saw the amazing number of responses this post received I was just thrilled. Also, I am glad you have chosen to add related articles to your site, it is a great way to find other blogs you may enjoy and also helps bring people to yours as well. :) All the best.

  19. I went through some rough times over the past 2 1/2 years. During this time, I have been doing some soul-searching and have learned many great things about myself and life in general. You have a great list. A lot of the things listed, I have learned to let go. Some, such as procrastination and limitations, I’m still working on. Your blog just validated what I believe. Thank you.

    • Thank you for your comment and for sharing your thoughts. I am glad that you enjoyed this post and I hope that it helps you as you continue on your journey. Many of these things require a lifelong commitment and need to be constantly reassessed, letting go is not something that happens overnight it is part of our journey through life. Just like a car needs regular maintenance, our well-being requires regular maintenance as well.

      All the best to you. :)

  20. Great list. I really like the idea of giving up time. We are so focused on time; I’m no exception. I find myself constantly living by the clock and sometimes I feel a slave to it. Wouldn’t it seem so much more free to not constantly worry about time?

    • Thanks for the comment. Yes it would be a wonderful feeling to never have to worry about time, and although we can’t do it all the time, we can cherish the moments we have that don’t require we live by the hands on the clock. :) One simple I have done for myself is to stop time at 8:00p.m. I turn off my phone, shut my door and do whatever I want, for as long as I want, until I feel like going to bed. It has helped me to be a happier and more relaxed person and has given me the time I need for myself.

  21. “Procrastination is a bad habit and the longer you practice it the harder the habit is to break”- this made enormous sense to me!

    “Break the negative connection and let these people go, true friends are hard to find but they add substance to our lives and they are always there when we need them”. I think I will do that today itself!

    • Thanks for commenting and I am happy to see that these ideas got you thinking. Small changes can make a big difference on your overall happiness.
      All the best and be sure to check back soon. :)

  22. Excellent post… While many of us are aware of these, we find it hard to let go.. And even if we let go for a day.. they come back to you sometime in the future…. But persistence and conscious efforts is the key

    Do check out my blogs on similar lines
    The Most Difficult Things in Life @ http://nipmu.blogspot.com/2010/12/most-difficult-things-in-life.html

    Fear @ http://nipmu.blogspot.com/2010/12/fear.html

    Anger @ http://nipmu.blogspot.com/2011/01/anger.html

    The Past @ http://nipmu.blogspot.com/2011/01/past.html

  23. Pingback: 10 Things You Must Let Go Of Today – Inspired Every Moment by Katherine « Soul Needs: personal development on your life-journey

  24. Amen to your facebook comment! I recently purged my list…letting go of a lot of FAKE friends. I think most people just want to be nosy about what you are doing anyway. This is a great let go list…I’m gonna have to try to implement some of these myself!

    • Thanks for the comment and congrats on your success. Facebook is just one of the ways we surround ourselves with ‘fake friends’ who as you put it ‘are probably just nosy about what you are doing’ and don’t actually give a damn about your life. :)

  25. What if I let go of time and thereby end up procrastinating and hence feel guilty about procrastinating leading to negative thoughts, self doubt and anger at myself ?

    Just kidding, great post! I should destress and save myself the heart trouble in my forties.

    • Lol thanks for the comment, you actually bring up a valid point… It is not about letting go of all time though, but rather about taking the time to enjoy yourself. For me I do this in a few different ways: I wake up an hour before everyone else, and a 8:00pm I shut everything down (phone, friends, kids, door) and do whatever I want until I am ready for bed. It allows me the time I need for me, without having to take away from other aspects of my life. :)

  26. “Fake Friends: Having 438 friends on Facebook does not mean you have 438 friends. Chances are you have a few people online and in your life that are not ‘real’ friends, or that don’t really add to your life in any way. Break the negative connection and let these people go, true friends are hard to find but they add substance to our lives and they are always there when we need them.” That’s the key one i can’t agree with any more. Nowadays, because of the prosperity in online communication, you will find the real friends around you is less and you need to get love from virtual internet. While, is that the friend in the internet real or honest? Hard to say. You still need to be alert and to be smart to advoid any possible scammers

    • Thanks for the comment, and realizing you need to let go is the first step in the right direction.
      All the best to you, and be sure to check back for more posts that may be helpful as you take your journey to a happier more positive life.

    • Thank you for the comment and I am glad to hear that you are going to be working towards a happier, more positive life. It is a long process, but it is worth the rewards. :) Best of Luck and check back often for more advice that may help you accomplish your goal.

  27. Good job! I am a PhD in cynical hypnotherapy, retired. Your words of wisdom are the heartbeat for a healthy and productive life. I am happy to say after a life of strife I am glad I know how to let go of the negativity in my past.

    • Thank you so much for your comment, I appreciate that you enjoyed this post. With your career background you must know how difficult it can be to ‘just let go’ but you probably know as well how beneficial it is to your life as well.

      All the best, and thanks again. :)

  28. What an inspiring way to start my day =)
    I read this with a cup of coffee in my hand and I kept nodding my head thinking yes, true, and I will.

    I have to let go of procrastination right away, it’s my worst habit.

    Great post! I love it. It’s like a kick in the bum.

    Cheers!!

    • Hi there, and thanks for your comment. Procrastination is a tough one to beat, and is also the major one for me… I find that when I am facing a task it is best to ask myself: a) Can I accomplish this task quickly right now? b) Will it make me feel good once it is completed? c) Will putting it off until later benefit anyone or anything? Sometimes it is just the boot I need to get the job done.

      Cheers.

  29. Pingback: 10 things you must let go of today .. | bepositive2beinspired

  30. Pingback: Guilty as Charged | Sandra2891svizzera's Blog

  31. Pingback: Guilty as Charged | Sandra2891svizzera's Blog

  32. Pingback: Easier read than done. « ~*YN*~Over Thinking is My Prerogative

    • Thanks for sharing my link. I checked out your site and I know how you feel. It can be difficult to let go of guilt, but remember guilt is a feeling that doesn’t feel good, and doesn’t change what happened. Look to past mistakes with a positive eye and see them as the lessons they are. Only once you have forgiven yourself and accepted your lessons will you be able to truly move forward freely. :)

      • Your most welcome Katherine! Its great to meet like minded people and I really enjoy coming to your blog, especially on the post about ’10 Things You Must Let Go Of Today…” Its an absolute winner and spot on about letting go and moving forward even if it hurts that is guilt. Guilt is the hardest one to let go and I agree with you about looking towards a positive eye, grow and forgive. I appreciate the support and encouragement. I believe that is why I began the 365 Challenge (http://becomeabetteryouin365days.com) this year to become a better person and your post has helped me to do exactly that: Be Better!

        ♥ ♥ Ezzy :)

  33. Thank you for that. I really needed that inspiration. The heartbreak is a tough one- even when you think you move past, there is still that dull ache…. But how right you are. If only we would all let go and live.

    Congrats on FP!

    • Thanks for the comment, and yes heartbreak is a difficult one. When dealing with heartbreak it is best to remember that every person teaches us something and in turn brings us closer to the perfect person for us. Letting go of anything is a process that takes time.

  34. You make it sound so easy. I’ve had such a difficult few months (house move, marriage troubles, self esteem issues due to post-baby body) and I’m not finding it easy to let it go. My problem is I’m a dweller, and I’ll mull things over and worry at them until my nerves are shredded. The stupid thing is, I KNOW what you say makes PERFECT sense – I just can’t obliterate the obstacles my over-wrought mind shoves in the way.

    Please tell me there’s a magic formula I need to take??

    • Hi there, thank you for your comment. Unfortunately I do not have a recipe for a magic formula, all I can offer is advice and the knowledge that all of these changes take time and hard work. Letting go of something is a process, and part of your lifelong journey. Keep your thoughts as positive as possible and remember that everything happens for a reason, even if that reason is not yet clear to you. I once read a quote that said: “worrying is like a rocking chair, it gives you something to do, but it doesn’t get you anywhere.”

      If you want or need to talk more in-depth or in private feel free to email: learningtolive@live.ca

      All the best, and keep smiling.

  35. too true :( all things I have committed, and sadly will continue to commit as, frankly, it’s hard to stop. and I don’t exactly know how… it’s one thing to say stop, but doing is another. i lack perseverence and self-determination, big time. might have to work on those two bother I tackle your list! hahaha~
    But it’s always nice to hear that I’m not the only one who thinks and does these things. Wise words… thank you :) (and congrats on being freshly posted)

    • Thank you for your comment. It is important that you remember these things are not achieved over night and that they are all a part of our lifelong journey to happiness and positive living. Keep trying and refer back to this list whenever you need a reminder. In time these negative behaviors will fade and it will all be worth the hard work and effort it took.

      All the best.

  36. This is beautiful .. thank you for sharing it with all of us .. with you permission could I please re-blog this on my blog – referring you of course?

    • Thank you for your comment, and of course you may re-blog and share this in anyway you like. If it helps change one person’s life, even in one tiny way than I have achieved my goal. :)

    • Thank you for your comment, and of course you may re-blog and share this in any way you like. If it helps change one person’s life, even in one tiny way than I have achieved my goal. :)

  37. This is just what I needed to read today! It’s sometimes easier said than done, but at the end of the day, it’s so simple. I know I’ll be aiming to achieve a few of these….
    Thanks for a great post! :)

  38. A beautiful post, well written with informative and educational tips on how to have a better state of life…something which I too advocate. It’s all about the mind, so think positive and be happy!
    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed! :)

    • Thanks for the comment and I am happy to see that you connected with this post. Consider which is most important to you, and which change will bring you closest to the life you want and start there. The fact is that it really doesn’t matter where you start, just that you start.

      All the best and be sure to check back often for more posts that may be useful as you work towards your goal of a more positive lifestyle. :)

  39. This is excellent. Especially about approval. Looking for external approval or validation never really works. We can work to approve and validate ourselves. Thats one of my goals I am working on.

    • Hi, Thank you for your comment. I am glad to hear that this is one of your goals because it is a major part of living a well-balanced and happy life. Good for you, keep up the good work and be sure to visit the site again in the future as you work towards your goals. :)

      All the best.

  40. Reads like my life…”Smile and the whole world smiles with you, weep and you weep alone.” Smile, wink and a nod–we are human and we share the soul.

  41. These are things which are actually simple to think of, and yet many of us don’t or are not able to see them in our everyday lives. Thanks for pointing them out to serve as a reminder to us. Great job!

    • Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed the post. We need to feel ‘remorse’ for things we have done wrong, but guilt is a negative emotion that doesn’t benefit, or solve anything. Remorse is feeling bad, making amends and moving on, Guilt is when we dwell on the past which ends up holding us back from the future. Let go of guilt and learn to accept these lessons with a positive mind.

      Be sure to check back often for a more detailed post about the effects of guilt and how to truly let it go.

  42. Pingback: the kite. « •uhziemeel• – blades running thru my head.

  43. Pingback: Everything that’s come to pass…

  44. Firstly, congratulations on being Freshly Pressed. :)

    And secondly, thanks for this very thought-provoking post. I need to spend more time living in the moment, without worry and negative thoughts.

    • Thank you so much. Living a more positive life takes time, keep up the good work and remind yourself of the benefits regularly and you will succeed.
      I look forward to future comments from you, and be sure to visit again for more inspiration.

    • Thanks for commenting. These things are not easy to accomplish and they are a process that requires time, patience, and constant reminders, but they are worth the effort and hold great personal rewards.

      All the best.

  45. This is a fantastic list of words to live by. A happy life is one well-lived and its within everyone’s power to do so. It all starts with a choice every morning to let go of everything you’ve listed. :-)

    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  46. This is a great article! There are a few things on your list I need to work on (self-doubt, need for approval). But I have found in the past year with not working for a company, that time does not really matter and when I started paying attention to the life around me (I live in a rural, forest area) naturally, the animals and myself end up doing certain things at around the same time every day without looking at a clock or being told to. So, the clock isn’t really needed. Our bodies can sense when it is time to do something. I don’t find myself looking at the clock nearly as often (which caused lots of stress for me), because I either don’t care or I know it is about 3:30 because the duck in the pond starts quacking like a laughing drunk.
    Thanks again for putting a few things in perspective and congrats on freshly pressed!

    • Thank you, and your comment is very inspiring. You are correct, our bodies will usually tell us the time, and if you have the luxury of not having to live by the clock you will usually still have some form of routine. For those that must live by the clock, it is important that when we ‘do’ have the time for ourselves we cherish it and do what makes us happiest.

  47. Pingback: Why I’m Stuck with the 10 Things You Must Let Go Of « lifefromthestep

  48. Pingback: 31 Days of Facing My Fears: Day 25 Saying No and Letting Go of the Guilt | Be Not Afraid

  49. This is great advice. And words I also try to live by every day as well. I definitely agree with your list. My mother is a worrier and a pessimist and I think my constant drive to “not be like my mom” causes me to be the exact opposite most of the time. That’s your over-arching message: be an optimist and be confident. Thanks for sharing this! And congrats on being freshly pressed!

  50. I liked the sentiments in this post. It is not easy to give up some of these things. Imagine how much time we would have to do things that were really important to us if we stopped worrying about what other people thought and just got on with life. Give up ironing – it’s such a waste of time.

    • Lol, thank you for your comment and I am happy that you have connected with this poston a personal level. be sure to check back, or subscribe, to get more information that you may find useful on your journey.

    • Thank you so much for your comment and I will head over to read your post right now. Be sure to check back, and feel free to share your thoughts and links as well any time. :)

  51. I was having a bad day and when I saw this post of yours, it made me realize some things ‘cuz what you’ve said here really makes a lot of sense. And I feel a lot better (I could relate with the guilt and anger).

    THANKS!!!

    • Thank you for your comment, I think we can all relate to the guilt and anger, they are two of the most difficult emotions to deal with. I am glad that you found this post helpful and please check back often for more information that might be useful.

  52. I cannot even tell how much I needed to hear this! I saw the title and knew I had to click…and I’m so glad I did. Thank you for this reminder! Very special indeed, to hold this close to my heart. xoxo, Cara

    • Hi Cara, thank you so much for commenting and I am glad you found this site and even happier that it was helpful for you. Please feel free to check back often and share your thoughts whenever you need.
      Cheers

  53. Terrific list! I can handle letting go of most on the list but guilt would be the hardest. Being a mom makes guilt a given for me. I don’t dwell on it but it does rear its ugly head now and then.

    • Hi there, thanks for commenting. Being a Mom myself I can relate to how guilt can make you feel, as long as you are doing the best you can though, and what you believe is best for your children and yourself, you have no need to feel guilty. Instead see the things you do as a lesson for yourself, and your children. There are not many things you can do that will traumatize them forever if you are truly doing what you think is best.

      All the best, and please visit this site often to get advice and share your thoughts. I will be adding a positive parenting section, as well as a few others, soon so stay tuned! :)

  54. I’ve been trying to learn how to live for several years now. I still haven’t mastered it. What I have mastered is the art of negative thinking. I don’t know if its because I’ve become jaded or just because I’ve had a bad turn of luck in life but I always tend to focus on the downside. I’m my own worst critic, my own worst enemy. I’m never my own best friend. I see the good in everyone else, but not me. I feel as I’m corrupt or even fallen in a way, as if I had been created with the intentions of being a good person without actually being one.

    Thanks for the inspiration.

    • Hi there and thank you for your truth and honest comment. I think we all go through a period like this at one time or another. I too tend to think the worst of myself, and see the good in others, it can be a difficult cycle to break. Self-doubt is a very damaging habit and can drag down all aspects of our life. One way I used to combat self-doubt, and low self-esteem was to write down at least one thing I like about myself everyday. Maybe it’s your smile, the way you help people, how you can see the good in others, or your creativity… Whatever the case take a moment each day (the morning is the best time to do this) and jot down one thing you like about you. Also, another way to work on your self-doubt is through gratitude, when we are grateful for the things we have in life we tend to feel better about ourselves. Keeps your thoughts as positive as possible and every time you catch yourself being negative about you or anything else replace that thought with a positive one by remembering something you have accomplished, or something you enjoy about being you.

      All the best, please visit back often and share your thoughts.
      Also feel free to contact me at: learningtolive@live.ca if you want to talk on a more personal/private level.

  55. A very inspiring post. Going through the steps and thinking about them really helped me to relax today, which was very much needed. Thank you for this.

  56. wow – thanks for putting this all in perspective! I am the worst with needing approval and always feeling like there is not enough time. Of course, guilt also feeds into both of those!

    • Thank you for you comment and I am glad that it helped. Working on letting go of the things on this list is an ongoing project, and part of the journey to a happier life, it can not happen over night and requires hard work and patience, as well as constant reminders.

  57. It’s funny I stumbled upon this post today. You mind as well have put “Dear Skylah” as the opening. But I’m sure many people feel like this piece speaks to them as well. Well written and so true. Thank you for sharing a clear view.

    • Thank you for your comment and I am happy to hear that you connected with this advice personally. Please be sure to visit again for more information that may be useful to you, and feel free to share your thoughts, questions or success stories.

  58. This article exactly explains what a lot of young people feel. I recently just went through the worst 2 months of my life due to a job hunt after graduating from college. It was ups and downs but thanks to God at the very end of me giving up I received a phone call.

    But I do agree about negative thinking because when I started I felt very confident and I knew I was going to succeed and indeed I was getting phone calls for interviews but I wasn´t patient and that led to anger which then led to disappointment. The worst thing you can ever do is negative thinking so if anybody feels like that please seek help and volunteer, that´s what I´m doing now even though I secured a job because it makes you feel good and interact with people.

    • Thank you for sharing your story with us, Volunteering is a great way to do something positive for others while making yourself feel good. It is something that I suggest everyone does in one way or another, even if you only have the time to do it once or twice a month it will benefit your well-being as well as other people that are in need. It also gives you a new appreciation for life and the gifts you have in your life.

      Be sure to visit again and share your thoughts or stories.

  59. This post is great and something everyone needs to read and re-read. I’ve been trying to change the way I look at life and this nails it right on the head. It really all starts with you. I noticed that when I started accepting MYSELF and holding myself accountable for all the good and bad that was happening to me, I was able to treat others better and emit a much more positive energy. People can get you down, but it’s how you choose to digest that that determines how long you stay down for. Good stuff.

    • Thank you for your comment, and you are correct… You can not control other people, you can only control the way you react to them.
      Be sure to check back and share your thoughts.

  60. 1. Guilt- False; Everyone needs to experience guilt at times. Without guilt, nobody would ever feel sorry for anything they had done wrong. Without guilt, the world would be full of people who simply didn’t give a crap about how they make others feel.

    3. Need for Approval- False; If we let go of the need for approval, nothing productive would get done. Think of it this way: why do you feel good about the things you do? Is it ever truly because of a complete feeling of self-worth? No… there is always an underlying motivation that is based upon satisfaction of those around you. Sure, you may have done something great without thinking about anyone else, but that sense of it being “great” was developed because someone else had already told you or taught you that it was good to do morally. Morals are mostly developed based on how actions affect others. It is impossible to get rid of your drive for approval. Why would you want to?

    4. Anger/Heartbreak- False; Get rid of anger, and you will be trampled on. If people let go of anger and act as if everything is OK, they won’t last very long. Anger is a way of reminding ourselves why mistakes should not be made over and over again. Anger causes us to see characteristics in others that we do not wish to have. Heartbreak does similar things. It is necessary in the world we live in to not completely let go of heartbreak. A good number of heartbreaks result from personal mistakes. We must learn from those mistakes. If it wasn’t due to our own mistakes, it was due to the mistakes of others. The heartbreak felt by those mistakes allows us to judge what types of things to stay away from and what to get rid of in our own life. Sure, we shouldn’t let anger or heartbreak control us, but we must not ignore them altogether.

    8. Limitations- False: This is just idiotic… I’m sorry for being so brash, but how can you honestly say that you should let go of limitations? True, some people do put too many limitations on themselves in a way that hinders progress, but everyone must have limitations. Nobody is perfect; nobody can do whatever they please. When you are young, you’re taught that you can be anything that you want to be, to reach for the stars. Good you, you can try if you’d like, but sooner or later you’ll have to come down off of your high horse and realize that you either do not possess the skills necessary for your desires, or that you do not have the means to do what you want to do. This is a fact of life and it cannot be ignored. To do so is foolish. Try and be an astronaut, chances are, you won’t be able to. It has very little to do with how much you try, and has a great deal to do with what restrictions other people put on that position. Frankly, I will limit you if you won’t. I don’t want people to think that they can do whatever they want. I don’t wish to deal with the depression that will inevitably occur after it hits them. Don’t limit yourself too much, but don’t be stupid and think that the world is yours. It isn’t, and it never will be.

    Moral of the story: don’t let these things control your life to the point of restraining your ambition, drive, or motivation. Do let these things teach you and direct you in a path that will allow you to be successful and content… heck, even happy.

    • Hi there, Thanks for your comment, and your thoughts.
      1. There is a huge difference between Guilt, and Remorse. I am not saying that people should not feel bad for the things they have done to others, simply that ‘dwelling’ on the emotion of guilt does not solve what happened in the past. I believe instead that we should let go of the emotion and make amends seeing what happened as a lesson learned and using that knowledge to improve upon our actions in the future.
      3. The “Need for Approval” is meant to be directed in a different way than you have interpreted. It is wonderful to want to do things to help others, but if all our actions are based on ‘impressing’ others rather than considering ourselves we will never be satisfied. When I say ‘let go of the need for approval’ I am saying stop doing things just to get others attention, make ‘them’ happy, or to impress them and focus more on what feels right for ‘you.’ People will always be driven by what other people think, but it should not be the entire basis for everything we do. You will never please everyone all the time, and trying to will only take away from your happiness.
      4. Anger/Heartbreak, again it is not about letting go of it completely, but rather not “dwelling’ on it or letting it affect your future choices. Anger is an emotion that we have to have, but it is one that we must controll rather than allowing it to control us.
      8. Limitations – Clearly we can not let go of all our limitations, but people tend to doubt themselves and they get the thought in their heads that they can’t achieve their goals. What I am saying is that people should NOT tell themselves they can’t accomplish their goals without first trying. Obviously there has to be some logic to our dreams, no matter how much you try you will not sprout wings and fly, but I am talking about the unneeded limitations that people set, and the way they tend to doubt themselves rather than just going for their goals.

      Obviously you have taken the things I have written far too literally…. Yet in your closing sentence you hit the nail right on the head… “don’t let these things control your life to the point of restraining your ambition, drive, or motivation. Do let these things teach you and direct you in a path that will allow you to be successful and content… heck, even happy.” Is EXACTLY what was meant by these ideas.

      I do appreciate your comment though, thank you for sharing your view.

  61. Pingback: Ten Things I Like About Myself « motherventing

  62. I stumbled upon your blog mid-procrastination. Good timing! Thanks for the reminders, we all know them but it’s amazing how often you need to be told again and again. Looking forward to more posts!!

    • Lol, Thank you for the comment. I am glad you found the site and that it gave you the reminder that we all need regularly. These ideas require effort, they are a process that takes time and does not happen overnight. :)

      Look forward to more comments from you in the future. :)

  63. Me gustaría escribir así tan acertadamente como lo haz hecho. Son consejos para seguir diariamente, y el método para seguirlos, por pequeños grupos o de uno en uno es excelente. Te felicito. Te seguiré

    I would like to write so well as you have done in this article. Here are some tips to follow daily, and follow the method for small groups or one by one is excellent. Congratulations.
    I will follow you.

  64. What a great article! Thank you for sharing your wise words. This article has helped me put many things into perspective. I am a young woman who has been trying to figure out the direction I want to go in life, as well as goals I hope to achieve. Thanks for the help :)

    • Thank you for the comment, I am glad that this post helped you. Be sure to check back often for more information that may be of use on your journey to a happier and more positive life.

      All the best.

  65. Thanks for this post, these are hard aspects to remember to do and even harder to master, kind of ironically I sometimes feel that life gets in the way of living life!
    This post reminded me of a story I have been meaning to share on my blog for sometime now – the short version – 4 years ago I was 24, in a job I didn’t like, not long out of a horrendous relationship and pretty much lost in general. I have spent a lot of time in my life doing things for others – family & friends and begrudged none of it, but suddenly at 24 I realised I needed to do some things for myself. 3 months later I was in a new job, new man, and newly enrolled in Uni… 4 years later I am in the job of my dreams, 1 year from finishing Uni and getting married to said man in 4 weeks :D
    I am a positive person in general and my fiancee is to, but sometimes when you get surrounded by negativity it is hard to resist!

    • Thank you so much for sharing that truly inspirational story. I hope that everyone reads this and sees the power in what you just wrote. When you decided to make changes and do things for yourself positive things began to happen. I am sure that it took you a great deal of hard work and a lot of patience, but it would have been a lot harder if you were still sitting where you were 4 years ago, right? And I am sure (especially since you are getting ready to get married, congrats btw) that it was well worth all the effort you put in. Good for you, I always love hearing positive stories. Keep up the good work and the sky will be the limit for you.

      All the best, and please feel free to come back often and share your thoughts (and the link to the post with the story you just told!)

  66. Awesome post! Very inspiring. I’m glad you pointed these things out because I probably wouldn’t have noticed that I am clinging to half of them. Congrats on being freshly pressed! Cheers.

  67. Pingback: Positive Thinking! Live Life to the Fullest! | Wealth Without Risk

  68. Thanks for this post, sometimes when you get surrounded by negativity its hard to resist (following along) but I am so glad that my husband is positive and is like a solid rock who grounds me when something goes wrong or pulls me back from spirally down. I had let go of a past transition today and your post on letting go really helped me over come that.

    THANK YOU. :)

    ♥ ♥ Ezzy

  69. Pingback: 64 // Strangers Reading My Mind | dianeloves

  70. Wonderful post! Each of these 10 things are achievable to everyone. Awareness is key. Patience is another. Maybe we cannot be as perfect as we would like to be in every moment, but being aware of an imperfect moment allows one to tick that box inside that says “marked for future improvement”.

    I wish you much joy on your journey, much love in your life, and many tears through your trials and tribulations… that is, tears of laughter ;)

    namaste, mús

    “Begin from within, and you won’t go without” – moose logic

    • Thank you for the heartfelt and inspiring comment, I appreciate your thoughts and advice. Be sure to check back with us often and share any other thoughts you may have.

      All the best.

      “The Journey is the reward.”

  71. Pingback: Updates, Ideas and Gratitude « Inspired Every Moment

  72. Pingback: Let go; Move on. « isn't it a wonder, how life came to be

  73. Well said. Letting go of negative opens up our hearts to receive so much beauty that exists within us and in the world. Thank you for the reminder.

  74. Pingback: Analyzing the Advice of a Positive Thinker « The Turtle’s Chair

  75. Pingback: 10 More Things You Should Relinquish « Quill Takes Flight

  76. Pingback: AAPT: Let Go Of… Guilt? « The Turtle’s Chair

  77. One of the best thing I’ve done in my life was to “stop looking for approval”. This is the worst if not the worse of the worst habit in my life that drove me nuts. I hate it. It’s much better living your life the way you want no matter what others think.

  78. I really appreciate and endorse all the ten things you have mentioned and we can make life better if we we adopt it in our life. Prayers and meditation renew our soul and give us lot of peace. Few minutes away from daily life hassle can keep our blood pressure under control for the whole day.

  79. Excellent. I totally agree with your points. Great layout of this topic. It’s always easier to follow along when there are bullet points and a logical breakdown. Well written and easy read! Thanks for sharing!

  80. Thank you, Katherine for this great advice! Very practical! I just stumbled upon your blog looking for other blogs in my niche. I’m am happy to have found you! I look forward to reading more of your encouraging insights!

    Have a wonderful rest of your day!
    Darling

    • Though the are difficult (for everyone) they are worth the effort and can be achieved one tiny step at a time… Stay tuned for ideas on how to removed these items from you life one little idea at a time.

  81. I love that you put time on your list. In this day and age, we are way too focused on instant gratification. I include myself as one of these people. We all need to slow down and enjoy the moments.

  82. The Facebook point is good. I started cleaning up my facebook account a few months ago as I realized most of my contacts were not friends but people from my professional world. Very politely, I have now shifted them to my company page. They really didn’t need to know my private life!

  83. Pingback: Positive Thinking: Polyanna Syndrome | QUOTES OF ENCOURAGEMENT

  84. I love this article! But as I was reading it…”Procrastination” came up….that was the reason why I was reading this in the first place….I had a blog update to write for class, and decided to read other blog posts on topics completely unrelated.

  85. Pingback: 10 điều mà bạn nên để nó ra đi vào hôm nay « Miên Quỳnh

  86. This is definitely something I needed to read… particularly the “need for approval” part. Accept that you cannot please everyone and instead focus on pleasing yourself… who knew it could be summed up in such a short and concise manner? It’s like the lightbulb turned on for me. Thanks!

  87. Pingback: Letting Go of Guilt « Inspired Every Moment

  88. Pingback: Link Happy «

  89. Pingback: How To Stop Negative Thinking: Tips, Tricks and Exercises for a More Positive Mind « Inspired Every Moment

  90. Pingback: Positive Thinking! Live Life to the Fullest! | Motivational Thoughts

  91. Pingback: The Need For Approval – Letting Go and Living Life. « Inspired Every Moment

  92. Pingback: “Whatever happens..happens..” « Live Like It's Heaven On Earth

  93. Pingback: 10 Things You Must Let Go Of Today… | Meditations From The Hive

  94. Pingback: How To Abolish Anger and Heal Heartbreak | Inspired Every Moment

  95. Pingback: How To Clean Out Your Friend Closet For Good | Inspired Every Moment

  96. Pingback: How Wrong Is Your Self-Image? | Inspired Every Moment

  97. Pingback: Leave The Past Behind | Inspired Every Moment

  98. I’ve been dealing with a guy on& off for 5 years yet he’s everything I don’t want he’s just horrible for me. Yet it’s hard 2 let go. I love your list and hole to follow it strongly.

  99. Pingback: 10 Things you must let go of today!!! | Naija Inspiration

Share Your Thoughts

